TEA finally made the change to the new rating system.  How does the new system stack up?

New 2013 School Accountability Ratings

  • MS* = Met Standard with one or more Distinctions
  • MS = Met Standard
  • MAS = Met Alternative Standard
  • IR = Improvement Required

The Texas Education Agency has released the 2013 state accountability system ratings for school districts throughout Texas. Districts receive one of three ratings under the new accountability system: Met Standard, Met Alternative Standard, or Improvement Required. The MS* denotes that the campus received Met Standard rating plus distinctions under the 2013 state accountability system.

The Distinction designations recognize outstanding academic achievement in reading, English language arts and mathematics on various indicators of postsecondary readiness. Campuses that receive an accountability rating of Met Standard are eligible for Distinction designations in 2013. The individual Distinction designations are listed on the TEA website.​